Play Hard

Books, Books, Books! 12 Smart Reads to Start This Summer

image

It’s Memorial Day!  The start of a season where we can all finally wear white and seersucker.  Where barbeques, and lazing about outdoors, and music festivals take priority over hanging about indoors.  For me, summer means a whole lot of binge reading.

I hadn’t read a novel in ages before I picked up “Paper Towns” at the beginning of May.  I go through these phases in summer where I read book, after book, after book, usually focusing on an author that I’ve fallen in love with.  For instance, in 2012 I churned through every single Thomas King book I could get my hands on.  And in my Indigenous-culture driven Pacific Northwest, it was easier than I imagined.  The public library really came through for me in my hour of need, and between the end of June, and the beginning of September I had blown through six novels and dozens of short stories by Thomas King (some pictured below), and other novels by Indigenous authors.  I was excited to keep the momentum going, but there’s something about the air in September/October that pushes me down an entirely different path.

Truth and Bright Water // Me Funny // Green Grass, Running Water // Medicine River

I’m hoping that won’t happen this coming September/October, because I’ve really enjoyed the books I’ve completed recently.  I’ve got a backlog of books on my eReader waiting to be started, and I’ve been poking around on GoodReads and WhatShouldIReadNext.com, continually adding more. Thankfully many of them are very easy, fun reads to balance the heftier, brain consuming books.

I will admit thought, many of the reasons I’m reading some of these books is because they have been made into movies.  I have an excellent friend who always asks me which book I’m reading, or which movies I’ve seen recently and I always lift my hands and squinch my face as if to say “I dunno.”  We’re starting an ultra-mini, book club, based around the “you don’t have to read the whole book if you don’t want to, because we’re going to watch the movie” and see where that goes.  We started with John Green’s “Paper Towns” coming to theatres next month.  The whole thing reminds me of high school when we would read the book, then watch the movie to compare and contrast.  That was always my favourite part of reading.  I’m very excited to finish each of these four books this summer, and then curl up to watch the movie.  Maybe I’ll finally be a little bit up on my pop culture references!

Serena // Paper Towns // The Danish Girl // The Price of Salt (or Carol)

And yet there are still others that intrigued me enough to add them to my reading list.  Or books that just keep popping up over and over again (not just recently, but over the past five-ish years).  They include classics like Wilkie Collins’s “The Woman in White”, and a Danish novel “The Fall of the King” that sounded really good.

Okay, I admit.  I watched all of “Rita” on Netflix, and subsequently became obsessed with the Danes and Scandinavia as a whole.  This is probably temporary.

In any case, the last four books on my summer “Must Read” list are for me to read.  These are my “goal books”.  The ones I’ve wanted to read for a while but I just haven’t got around to it yet.

The Fall of the King // The Woman in White // Where’d You Go, Bernadette // Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

 It’s just the beginning of summer and I have quite a number of pages to read! The question now is, making the time to read all these!

Have you read any great books?  What’s on your reading list?

Say Anything!

