Inspiration / Play Hard

A Weekend Re-Cap. Nature, Nurture, and a Sandwich that almost delivered.

It’s eeking into spring here on the West Coast.  There’s sunshine (most of the time), rain (some of the time), and smiles (all the time).  I’m spending my days working and being overly creative.  Somehow I’ve begun to wake up before my alarm and then I actually wait for it to ring so I can get up.  I’m being productive in the morning and subsequently I have a lot to share in the coming weeks.

But right now I just want to share a nice casual weekend. Full of the outdoors, and a sneak peek of things to come.

I spent Friday evening with my talented friend Izad, catching up on life, running errands, and squeezing in a few extra moments before he moves to Toronto.  He will be missed, and I’m thinking positive thoughts for all the future Skype dates and long distance projects we’ll share.

Saturday morning started with coffee.  Because vanilla almond milk delicious.  I’m staying with my mother-in-law right now, and she has a fancy espresso maker so for the first time in my life, when I want a five dollar coffee, I don’t have to get changed and look like a person.  Admit it.  That’s the worst part about cravings.  You have to make sure you are presentable before procurement.  Unless you’re just going to the convenience store around the corner in your slippers.  No one judges you at convenience stores.

 

My mother-in-law and I went on a quick jaunt downtown to drop off some keys, and to run a couple more errands.  Hudson was incredibly sad when Charlene left the car and spent fifteen minutes whining, crying, barking forlornly.  This reaffirmed my deep love of cats who couldn’t care less if you left, as long as you returned.

 

We stopped off at the Victoria Public Market where I hadn’t been since leaving Victoria.  And man, has it changed.  There were fresh vegetables, mexican food, a butchers and my favourite Salt Spring Island goat cheese.  And I ate. I ate goat’s milk gelato. I sampled really fancy chocolate.  I pined after a citrus juicer. I may have to return to fetch the citrus juicer.

The market is lovely and adorable with so many places to sit.  There’s a pie place, which reminds me of Pushing Daisies.  I really want to befriend the pie-maker and solve adorable crimes with him/her.  And then eat pie.

 

I would absolutely solve those crimes wearing either of these aprons.  I bought them at a thrift shop for a project I’m working on.  And. I. Love. Them.  There are frilly daisies (absolutely appropriate for pie-filled crime fighting) and cats!  I mean… just look at them!  And take a close up on that print.  Can’t you just?

 

A+ for not ironing due to excitement.

 

On the way to work I passed by Foo, a fantastically delicious hotspot for Asian street food.  They had a Bahn Mi on special and I wanted it.  We usually go to Ba Le in Chicago, and they are practically perfect in every way.  I was hoping for something just as delicious and this came so close.  It was all just a little too buttery.  The bun didn’t have the same crackle a Vietnamese baguette does and I desperately wanted extra pickled diakon, but it hit the spot with a little extra hot sauce.  I cried for you, Argyle “El” stop.  The truth is, I left you for fish and chips.

 

This is one of those projects I’m working on.  And I’m so pleased with it.  I wish I could take all the credit but I can’t.  Hundreds of years of tradition has to.  But I’m taking care of this little friend and it’s delicious.

 

Sunday brought me these beautiful little forget-me-nots.  I love how tiny and delicate they are.  And there’s so many on a bush!  I just want to gather them all up and throw them everywhere and pretend I’m a princess in a meadow wearing a cat apron.  Every princess needs a cat apron.

 

But this princess is the best.  It was my c0-worker’s birthday and she treats me so nice, I had to get her a cake.  I couldn’t find candles so I picked up a tealight.  Hey, when you gotta make do!

I love my co-workers.  They’re really the best.  They make me jump for joy.

Jump for Joy

 

 

xob

 

Say Anything!

