Eat Hard / Recipes

Simple Customizable Granola Bars for Every Breakfast

customizable granola bars

I am not a morning person.  It is incredibly difficult for me to leave my bed and be productive.  “Productive” includes things like “making breakfast”.  I wish I could energize myself enough to make myself breakfast in the morning.  But until I figure out an effective way for me to leap out of bed in a single bound, whip up anything other than a bagel or an apple to eat on my race to the train, I’m stuck.

Stuck with muffins, scones, and granola bars like these.  So I guess I shouldn’t complain.

These granola bars are incredibly easy, and you can fill them with whatever you would like to eat.  Get inspired from granola bars in the grocery store.  Think about your favourite flavours.  I would be so happy with a cranberry white chocolate bar with almond butter.  Or a pumpkin flax bar with sunflower butter. The possibilities are endlessly delicious!

For now, it’s a mixed nut and semi-sweet chocolate blend with peanut butter.  Because peanut butter and chocolate, that’s why.

When you make these, replace the peanut butter with your nut/seed butter of choice.  Replace the mixed nuts with an equal quantity of your selected nut or dried fruit blend.  You could even replace 1/2 a cup of the rolled oats for coconut flakes!  Looks like I have less of an excuse to skip breakfast now.

Simple Customizable Granola Bars
from Minimalist Baker

  • 1 1/2 c. rolled oats (toasting optional)
  • 1 c. dates (pitted)
  • 1 c. mixed nuts, lightly chopped
  • 1/4 c. honey, agave, or maple syrup
  • 1/4 c. peanut butter
  • optional add in: semi-sweet chocolate chunks, to taste

To toast the rolled oats, bake the oats at 350 degrees for 15 minutes.

Puree the dates in a food processor, or by hand with a fork until soft.  If the dates are a little dry and blending is difficult, soak them for 10 minutes in hot water and blend.

Add nuts, honey, peanut butter, toasted oats and chocolate chips.  Stir until blended.

Place on a baking sheet with parchment paper.  Wet your hands and pat into a square shape.  Put into fridge or freezer to set, approximately 20-40 minutes.

Cut (learn how here) and serve.

xob

2 thoughts on “Simple Customizable Granola Bars for Every Breakfast

Say Anything!

