Beauty / Play Hard

DIY Beauty: Handmade Translucent and Foundation Powder

homemade powder header

The other day I was stopping by CVS.  You know.  Like you do.  You just see a CVS and think “Do I need anything from CVS?  Maybe I should just stop in quickly and check.” And then you leave with things you didn’t need.  That’s what happened the other day.  And I left with two pieces of makeup and $30 less in my pocket.

And I little part of me died.

See, I really hate spending.  That’s half the reason why I do so much DIY.  The other half is obviously because it’s so much fun, but saving a little money can’t hurt?

So I turned around, returned the unopened makeup, went home and made this instead.

two homemade powdersThe difference between you and me, however is your foundation powder is probably going to look different than the translucent powder.  I happen to be a ghost and this was not the case with me.

Ghost though I may be, I’m rosy and pink as a June bride’s bouquet.  My recipe includes green clay to help cancel out my natural redness.  The end product is tinted a little green, but my skin didn’t retain any of that colour.  Cornstartch provides the bulk of the powder, but you can use arrowroot powder as well.  Bentonite clay provides amazing skin health benefits and helps with Cocoa powder adds the colour, adjusted to your skin tone.  Adding ginger for “yellow” could provide your powder with a touch of warmth.  You’ll have to find out for yourself though, I’m warm enough already!

The recipe takes a bit of trial and error.  Start small with this sample recipe.  It’s easily doubled, tripled, quadrupled…

Translucent Powder

  • 2 tsp cornstarch or arrowroot powder
  • 2 tsp french green clay
  • 1 tsp bentonite clay
  • Touch of cocoa powder to colour

Foundation Powder

  • 1 tbsp cornstach or arrowroot powder
  • 1 tsp french green clay
  • 1tsp bentonite clay
  • Cocoa powder to colour – I used just under 1 tsp

UPDATE (March, 2014):  I got frustrated trying to use this loose powder.  I admit, I’m not particuarly used to using loose makeup and a brush.  The little pots pictured would be perfect for me, if they had some sort of cover.  Attempting to remedy this, I used 70% rubbing alcohol mixed in hoping that it would evaporate, leaving me with a pressed powder.  Not so. The alcohol reacted with the clay, and now I have a lovely pot of clay that refuses to be makeup anymore.

That’s all! That’s how I saved over $30 on makeup in one go.  I’m still experimenting with a more “liquid foundation”.  I’ll let you know how it works out!

xob

3 thoughts on “DIY Beauty: Handmade Translucent and Foundation Powder

  1. Pingback: Kitchen Hack: Grapefruit stand | calm+clamor

  2. I’m wondering if you could use a nice moisturizer with some spf to make it a liquid instead of a powder? That or perhaps a bit of water… just a thought!

    • I’ve already tried that, but because I use the two kinds of clay, anything with water (including rubbing alcohol when I tried to make a pressed powder) creates either a rock formation, or a tinted clay mask.

      I’d love to keep ingredients that provide the same good-for-you goodness of clay, but I haven’t come across to the right combination yet. I’m thinking vitamin E or something similar… but I’m absolutely open to suggestions!

Say Anything!

