Play Hard / Travel

“Good Bye” Best Coast, “Hello” Windy City! Part One: Victoria to Seattle

Yes, after a year of sporatic blogging, an immense amount of guilt for not updating, and numerous pledges to “start again tomorrow!” I am posting something and will be back in action on a more regular basis, now that I actually have some time.

But let’s travel back a bit in time, to the middle of September, back when I was working eight hours a day, six days a week.

Best Coast

That was the life.  I was so happy, surrounded by people brought together for a single love of Northwest Coast craft beer.  Working with the most amazing people on earth, all the while avoiding packing for my trek out to Chicago.  Remember that list I made in my last post?  Guess how much of it I didn’t pack?  Let’s just say I’m devastated that I now have to find all my Moosewood recipes online, and I have too many practical shoes.  Curse my level-headedness.

I traveled with my mum to Vancouver for the night, and spent the day with her, running last minute errands, losing my wallet, finding my wallet, and forgetting to go into the bank to exchange my Canadian money for American.  It was a really great day and my mum and I got to spend some much needed time together, even though I was absolutely brain dead and bracing myself for the next leg of my North- to Mid- West journey.

From Vancouver, I took Amtrak to Seattle and spent the afternoon there, haggling with a RadioShack employee whose enthusiasm knew knew bounds, but her cell phone knowledge did.  After an hour and a half, I came out with (the wrong) cell phone plan, and a grumbly tummy.

collage

But when in Seattle!  I headed to Pike Place Market, stocked up on fresh fruits and vegetables.  Ladies and Gentlemen, I had a 48 hour journey ahead of me and I refused to have to buy all my food on board.  Turns out Seattle is just an American version of BC’s Vancouver and the cozy weather, delicious coffee and organic carrots I dragged with me back to the station left me feeling taken care of before I settled down for the long haul.

Will Becca survive the trip to Chicago?  What kind of people did she meet along the way? Did she finally cave and buy food on the train?  Tune in next time for Part II!

4 thoughts on ““Good Bye” Best Coast, “Hello” Windy City! Part One: Victoria to Seattle

  1. Pingback: “Good Bye” Best Coast, “Hello” Windy City! Part Two: Seattle to Chicago | calm+clamor

  2. Pingback: “Good-Bye” Best Coast “Hello” Windy City Part Three – Chicago Living | calm+clamor

  3. Pingback: “Good-Bye” Best Coast “Hello” Windy City Part Three – Chicago Living | Crunchy Can Feel Good

  4. Pingback: “Good Bye” Best Coast, “Hello” Windy City! Part Two: Seattle to Chicago | Crunchy Can Feel Good

Say Anything!

