Around the House / Work Hard

I made my house smell like an orange creamsicle and so can you!

Fact: We lived for an extraordinarily embarrassing period of time without a vacuum cleaner.

Fact: Boyfriend “accidentally” left the hose by the base heater and melted the vacuum hose in half.

Fact: Wesley Cat is long-haired and enjoys lying and rolling on the carpet.

Fact: Our carpet was looking like a batch of cookies and cream ice cream.

Fact: We got a new vacuum.  It’s amazing.  It’s bagless.  And now we have vanilla carpets, with no danger of “chocolate developments”.

After this embarrassingly long period of time, I decided that just vacuuming wasn’t enough, and I should probably deodorize the carpets like a mad-woman.  Aside from giving them a good shampoo-ing with a machine that I don’t own, I decided to do the next best thing, and use the power of baking soda to it’s work.  And while I was at it, I thought to myself “Hey, why not make it smell nice in here?”

Fact: I made it smell nice.  I made it smell real nice.

You will need no fancy tools, no power drills or jigsaws.  Just every-day stuff you find around your home:

  • 1 cup baking soda
  • 1 cup corn starch
  • 20-30 drops of your favourite essential oil(s)
  • A jar
  • A matching jar ring or an elastic band
  • A coffee filter
  • A chopstick/another stabbing type object.
  1. Pour the baking soda into the jar
  2. Drop 1/2 of your essential oil into the jar and mix thoroughly
  3. Pour corn starch into the jar
  4. Drop remaining 1/2 of your essential oil into the jar and mix thoroughly
  5. Let dry.  Walk away and tidy your living room before doing step six.
  6. Place the coffee filter on top of your jar and attach either with your jar ring, or an elastic band.
  7. Stab large holes in the top of your coffee filter.
  8. Sprinkle on your carpet.
  9. Wait 30 minutes.
  10. Vacuum like no one’s business.

When I made this, I used tea tree oil as an anti-microbial agent, orange oil because it repels flies and other insects, and vanilla because everything is better with more vanilla.  It literally smelled like an orange creamsicle.  You couldn’t tell that I had used the tea tree oil at all, it just smelled lovely and sweet.

If your fuzzy buddies have flea problems or you’ve recently moved into an apartment that an animal has left its fleas in, use rosemary, cedarwood or lavender in your carpets.

If you’re trying to eliminate cigarette smoke use a combination of tea tree oil, eucalyptus and rosemary.

If you made a really delicious dinner you can still smell in your house the next day (and the next), use peppermintlavender, and clary sage

Bug problem like me?  Use orange oil, citronella and/or clove.

From what I’ve read, cats are highly sensitive to essential oils, and there’s a long list of oils that shouldn’t be used on or around cats.  My kitties are both used to me using all tea tree oil and orange oil  and other essential oils when I clean around the house, and from what I read online, the dangers of essential oils and cats revolve around the oils being on their skin or ingested.  I still took precautionary measures and locked them both in the bedroom (which was a bad idea because they fought and knocked stuff over).  This ensured that their delicate paws wouldn’t touch the baking soda/essential oil mixture while it sat on the carpet, especially when their paws come in direct contact with their tongues to clean their bodies.

But true to his fashion, Wesley Cat got out, and sat and watched me work.  I sprinkled the carpet deodorizer around him like this because he refused to move.  He didn’t sneeze or anything, which is quite unlike him.  If toast is burning or if the lawn has recently been cut it irritates his nose and he starts to sneeze, but not with the carpet deodorizer.

I snapped a picture and then picked him up and put him back in the bedroom.  It was super cute.

After vacuuming, my carpet looked so clean, and fresh and felt like actual carpet instead of cat fur that wouldn’t get off no matter how hard we carpet swept.  It felt so good looking at a nice really clean floor.

And then this happened.

Bring it on, fuzzy buddy.

 

This post is linked up to the Little House in the Suburbs DIY Linky #13

2 thoughts on “I made my house smell like an orange creamsicle and so can you!

Say Anything!

