Hurry Hard

Monthly Mission #1 Wrap-Up

Inspired by blogger Sayward Rebhal of Bonzai Aphrodite, on the first Monday of the month I take on something that I don’t already do that I do, or don’t want to do, but know I should.  I report back on the last Thursday of the month, and see how far I’ve come.  But I don’t want to be alone!  Join up

I was fully intending to post this on Thursday (when I promised) but I completely forgot to because I got way too excited about my DIY Tea Bags.  And then I thought that yesterday’s post deserved to be by itself without my sad fail.

I ran a total of four times during the month of July.  Yes, that’s once a week.  And two of those were in the first week.  Four is a far cry from the twelve I was aiming for, and I’m sort of sad that I didn’t achieve what I set out to do.

But it wasn’t a complete fail.  I learnt that I’m not a big fan of running.  I’ve learnt that I like it a whole lot more when there’s someone else at my fitness level to run with.  I’ve learnt that when given the chance to do a 5k run, or a 20k bike ride, I will take the bike ride.  And I did take the bike ride!  I biked out to my parents house and back twice in July, which is pretty okay.  It was 80 kilometres over the course of two weeks, in addition to my regular shopping/errand biking which is another 10ish kilometres per day.

But I haven’t given up running.  I know that I need to vary my workouts in order to be really healthy.  I know that I didn’t want to run because I didn’t feel like I knew how.  Next Saturday I’m doing a morning running clinic at Mountain Equipment Co-op (MEC) to learn more about beginner’s running, to make friends and to have fun.  I’m going to try an incorporate running into my fitness routine instead of letting it be the centre of it.

But I realized that I don’t really have a fitness routine.  But I’m excited to create one.  I’ve decided to take advantage of the current Olympic Games and “participate” in one or two events each week.  I’m going to see which ones I like best, which ones make me feel the most energized and which ones I want to do again!  I’d love it if you’d like to join me.  Maybe you’ll find a new sport or workout you like.  Leave a comment if you want to participate, or have any questions!

Stay tuned for these Olympic Events and my experience as a “competitor”.  I’m up against myself, and I’m one tough cookie:

Running
Cycling
Gymnastics
Swimming
Synchronized Swimming
Rowing
Tennis
Soccer (or Football, whichever you prefer)
Kayaking OR Triathalon

Say Anything!

