Eat Hard / Recipes

Vegan Protein Chocolate Cupcakes with Coconut Dinosaur Frosting

Yes, it might be the one of the longest, more precise recipe titles on the face of the planet, but this is my “go-to” recipe for chocolate cake, adapted from my grandma, and my dad (a professional baker) for me and my friends who I make it for.  The first time I made them for Boyfriend was when he was having another sarcastic bout of “I don’t understand veganism!  Why would you deprive yourself of bacon?”  I made these for him and he ate a lot of them.  After he had finished the 3rd or 4th cupcake, I said “So Boyfriend.  Those are vegan cupcakes.”

He then pretended to gag, throw up and die crying out “Why must you feed me these crunchy granola things!!”  And then I started this site.

This recipe is from my grandma.  It’s all over the internet so it’s not really my grandma’s very own recipe that she handcrafted herself after years of experimenting.  But the origins of Wacky Cake lie in depression era women (who probably lived in cities). They developed a cake recipe without milk, butter or eggs (because they couldn’t have chickens or cows on their balcony.  Kind of like me) and thus, the only cake that I have ever been able to make successfully was born!

Can you tell that there’s protein powder added? Neither can my not-so-crunchy Boyfriend!

This is a weird fact, especially considering that my dad is a professional baker, and has been since years before I was born.  He was a baker’s apprentice for years under a German man who gave my parents a cuckoo clock for their wedding present, and who always comes over for lunch when he’s visiting his mum who still lives here.  My dad taught me everything I know about baking, and I still call him all the time asking him questions about why this recipe didn’t work out, or what my bread is supposed to look like before I bake it.  I can bake almost anything perfectly on the first try, except for cakes.  Cakes are the bane of my existence.

My recipe is based off this recipe here, with a few adjustments because I don’t believe in adding anything flavourless when I bake.  Dinosaur sprinkles are not mandatory, but they are delicious and adorable.

Vegan Protein Chocolate Cupcakes with Coconut Frosting

  • 1 1/2 cups flour
  • 1 cup cane sugar
  • 1 standard scoop of your favourite protien powder
  • 4 tablespoons cocoa powder
  • 1tsp baking soda
  • vanilla extract (remember, more is best!)
  • 6 tbsp vegetable oil
  • 1 tablespoon apple cider vinegar
  • 1 cup coffee
  1. Mix dry ingredients in a bowl. 
  2. Make three wells in the dry ingredients
  3. Pour wet ingredients into the wells
  4. Stir.
  5. Plop into well greased/papered cupcake tin
  6. Bake at 350 degrees for 15-25 minutes (depending on your oven)
Coconut Frosting
  • 2 cups of icing sugar
  • 1/2 cup coconut oil, solid room temperature
  • vanilla (again, more is best!)
  • 2 tbsp coconut milk (or whatever alt milk you have in your fridge)
  • 1 cup icing sugar
  1. Cream 2 cups of icing sugar and the coconut oil in a bowl
  2. Add vanilla and alt milk
  3. Add last cup of icing sugar
Say Anything!

