Play Hard

Made Me Smile Weekend Send-off: Sister is a Big Girl Now

Let me start with a picture of my sister who graduated last Friday.  She’s just about the purdiest little sister anyone could ever have!  Her grad song was “Lucky” by Said the Whale, and it’s probably my new favourite .  It was incredible listening to over 200 grads clap along to the chorus “We are lucky and we know it, we clap our hands to show it”.  I’m listening to it right now, and I feel so good about everything!  They’re playing in Victoria tonight too!  I wish I could go…

The young lad next to her is probably my new best friend too.  I gave up my seat in the auditorium to my uncle so that he could watch the 2.5 hour ceremony in the sweltering heat while Sister’s Boyfriend and I could order burgers and fries from Felicia’s, the campus pub and eat them while watching the TV broadcast from within the building.  Much respect for him, and mad props to his humour skills.  They are phenomenal.

My poor kitty though… I think we got a bad batch of cat food.  He’s been throwing up all the time, and it’s just food and not hairballs or anything.  He’s been vying for our attention a lot more as well.  I’m not sure if it’s because our summer schedules have changed and we’re rarely ever home, or if he’s trying to tell us that his cat food is off.  I’m not really sure…

 My plans for the weekend include getting a head start on a bunch of foodie projects I’ve been meaning to do forever, working at my favourite store, and catching up with my friend Katrina who has recently returned from the 20+ convention in Rio.  I haven’t seen her in forever and I’m blindingly excited.  And Pride!  This Sunday is our Pride Parade.  In which I attend and sing Barbara Striesand’s “Don’t Rain On My Parade” at the top of my lungs, and no one looks at me weird, they just applaud.

What’s your favourite song right now?

Say Anything!

