Recipes

Bluberry White Chocolate Scones

I make these for the Wife when I get up the energy.  They’re not very time consuming at all.  I usually just grab my bowl and sit in front of the TV and mindlessly cut away at the butter to blend it all into the dry mix.  I don’t know if that has anything to do with how well they turn out though…

The Wife refuses to eat my cookies (only because he knows it drives me up the wall.  I swear, he just sits at  home while I’m at school thinking up new ways to make me angry.  He probably would admit to it too!) so I made him scones one day and they were a huge hit.  He doesn’t have the hugest sweet tooth though, so these are perfect!  I don’t make them often … I’m a full time student working a part time job and he’s a “full-time” professional musician and we both do theatre together so time for baking doesn’t come along often.  I’m trying to find him some scones I can buy that are delicious and up to his standards (he’s not picky he’ll eat anything. like I said, he just has standards.  He always has a comment.) so he can have them all the time and I don’t have to bake them.  But no cigar.  Everywhere is always “too bland” or “too dry” or “not enough fruit” or “I’m not in a scone mood today”.  So apparently my scones are still the reigning pastry monarch!

Here’s the recipie for you:

To be honest… it’s from the Kraft Canada website… anyone could find it.

3 cups flour
1/2 cup plus 2 Tbsp. sugar, divided
1 Tbsp. Baking Powder
1/2 tsp.salt
3/4 cup (1-1/2 sticks) cold unsalted butter, cut into pieces
3/4 cup plus 2 Tbsp. milk, divided
1 egg, lightly beaten
1 Tbsp. grated lemon peel (It really makes a HUGE difference!)
1 cup blueberries
1 pkg.(6 squares) BAKER’S White Chocolate, chopped (or some chocolate chips.  I usually eyeball how many I drop in!)

PREHEAT oven to 375°F. Mix flour, 1/2 cup of the sugar, the baking powder and salt in large bowl. Cut in butter with pastry blender or 2 knives until mixture resembles coarse crumbs. Do this step in front of your TV, or turn on a YouTube video or something.  Time will go much faster! Add 3/4 cup of the milk, the egg and lemon peel; stir just until mixture forms dough. Stir in chocolate chunks and bluberries. Be gentle with the blueberries.  They can kind of mush up and lose their shape that I’m oh-so-fond-of.  Put them in after the chocolate.  OR, you could leave the chocolate and bluberries out and then….

DIVIDE dough in half. On lightly floured surface, pat each half into a round, 9 inches in diameter and 1 inch thick. Cut each round into 8 wedges. Place wedges on ungreased baking sheet. Brush tops with remaining 2 Tbsp. milk; sprinkle with remaining 2 Tbsp. sugar. OR if you’ve omitted the chocolate chunks and blueberries, gently press them on top of your scones here.  It makes kind of a nice “nest” look.  You also use up less bluberries and white chocolate, which is always nice.

BAKE 25 min. or until golden brown. Serve warm or at room temperature.

And there you go!  The secret to a happy Boyfriend.  Through his stomach as per usual.

Things I’ve changed about this recipie:  I personally don’t bother making it into a circle and cutting wedges.  I do when i want it to look extra pretty, but usually it’s just the Boy and he doesn’t really care much as long as they taste good.  Something else I like to do, is to pop them into muffin tins.  That creates a nice shape too!  There’s endless things you can do too.  Raspberry white chocolate are delicious too.  Substitute orange zest for the lemon and add dark chocolate…  Okay, I give.  Chocolate is delicious and I haven’t been brave enough to try a savoury scone yet.

But I’ll keep you posted!

Say Anything!

